Funding my daughter’s marriage

Now that my daughter Rinki is going to be 23 soon, it is time to start thinking that she will get married in a few years. Of course, given the fact that she is in the second year of her BM program at XLRI and will probably work a few years before getting married, I think we are still looking at another 4 years or so, maybe 5. However, given the kind of expenses it entails one must plan for it in advance.

As my regular readers will know well I do not have separate portfolios assigned to specific financial goals. I simply have 3 portfolios of Debt, Stocks and MF where I invest in and take out money from these as and when needed. So far this has really not been needed as I have always had enough to spend from my active income. This is true even in my current state of Financial independence but may not remain so at the point of time my daughter gets married. There is thus a need to plan for this.

In general, my idea always had been that I will pay for my children’s graduation, no matter how much it cost, and also a reasonable amount in their marriage. Post graduation was something I wanted my children to fund themselves, normally through a bank loan or even taking some money as a loan from me. I did not see much point in paying high interest rates to the banks. This will burden the child with high EMI and restrict his or her freedom to make the right choices.

Based on all of these, when Rinki got admitted to XLRI we took a 12 lacs loan even though the course fees were in the range of 22 lacs. The idea was that I will pay much of the first year fees and she would get it paid by the bank in the second year. Total costs for the first year was 10.5 lacs and we took only 50000 from the bank. This was needed to keep the loan valid. In the second year the fees to be paid are as follows – 4.71 lacs in June, 2.5 lacs in August and 2.5 lacs in November. Right now we have paid the first 4.71 lacs through our own resources – Rinki had some internship money from her Summer stint in GE, one of the FMP I had earlier done for her reached maturity and a FD I had done some years back matured now. Under ordinary circumstances I may have needed the money for my expenses but as my active income is going well in 2017 the flexibility is quite a lot more.

With the above backdrop and the assumption that Rinki is likely to get a job which will pay her at least the median salary in XLRI, I have worked out the following plan with her

  • We will try to restrict the bank loan to 4.5 lacs or so.
  • In the first year of her job, she will pay back the loan in full. Along with the interest this may come to 40000 per month.
  • Assuming that she gets a take home salary of 1.2 lacs per month and needs to spend about 40000 on regular expenses, she will still have 40000 left as surplus in year 1.
  • From year 2 the surplus is obviously a lot more.

What about the money I have paid for her PG education? It will amount to about 14 lacs and I do not want her to pay it back to me. I have asked her to invest it in a portfolio of 4-5 MF over the next 3 years @ 40000 per month. Over this period the amount of the corpus will be 17.4 lacs and in 4 years it will be about 20 lacs. This is the amount I plan to utilise for her marriage. Yes, the costs may be more and if so, I will fund the gap.

What if she decides not to get married at all or get married later. Well, in the first case the money is her’s to use in any manner she wants to. In the second case, the money will remain invested and we will be using it as and when she gets married.

For my son the issues will be simpler as the marriage expenses are likely to be lower. Also, like I did for myself, I am hoping he will be able to foot the bill to some extent, if not for all of it like I did. That is way down the future though, at least 8 years if not more.

Leave a Reply

