My stock portfolio – the third set of 5

While most investors may be going through the MF route to buy equity as an asset class, there is a lot of interest in the stock portfolios of seemingly successful investors. This is amply demonstrated by the numerous requests I get for stock tips and readers wanting to know about my portfolio. In the last 2 post I had written about my top 10 holdings. Here I will write about the next 5.

The first in the list is ITC and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was to get a well run mass consumer company in my portfolio. I also have HUL but ITC has performed better over the years.
  • My first purchase was in 2006 August and the last in January 2015. I had also sold off some of my shares in the interim when it hit the figure of 400.
  • The stock has seen a lot of corporate action in terms of bonus and I too got benefited by a 1:1 bonus in 2010 and a 1:2 bonus in 2016.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company with 500 % to 850 % rates in the last 4 years.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which is benefited from the local consumption story. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 2-3 years, even with the challenges in the cigarettes business.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 98 Rs.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The second in the list is Mindtree and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was mainly to invest in a relatively new IT services company run by a management that had great pedigree.
  • My first purchase was in July 2007 and the final one in September 2008.
  • The stock had declared a 1:1 bonus in 2014 and  in 2016.
  • It has normally paid good dividends in the range of  100 % and more.
  • In terms of potential, the company is facing serious challenges now and this is being reflected in the declining price. However, I think it will recover in this year and it is quite possible for it to reach 1000 levels in a couple of years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 134 Rs.
  • I have no plans of selling this stock now or in the near future.

The third in the list is Hindustan Zinc and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was to have a commodity based company in my portfolio and this was one of the better run companies.
  • My first purchase was in 2007 June and the last in March 2009.
  • The stock has not seen corporate action in terms of bonus or splits after my purchases.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company and in the last 2 years the dividends have been 300 % and 400 %
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which has dominated locally and well on course for it’s global journey now. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 4-5 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 542 Rs and it is about 5 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The fourth in the list is TCS and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was it’s prominent place in the IT sector as a major global player.
  • All my purchases of this stock was between January 2008 and June 2009.
  • The stock had seen a bonus of 1:1 in June 2009.
  • It has normally been a great dividend paying company and mostly paid 45 Rs dividend per share in 2016.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which has gone global successfully. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 3-4 years, despite the obvious challenges.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 399 Rs and it is about 4 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The final one in the top 5 list is L & T and some observations are below.

  • I bought some convertible debentures way back in 1992 and this effectively got converted into shares at a value of 60 Rs.
  • The stock has seen bonuses in 2006, 2008 and 2013 where  my numbers went up and I also sold off some at a decent profit.
  • It has normally been a great dividend paying company at around 800 % and more.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company having made it both locally and globally. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 2-3 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 20 Rs and it is about 4 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • Based on this purchase I also got shares of Ultratech Cement free 🙂
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

As you will see from here, investing in good companies and holding them for a long period of time has really worked for me here. There are some other holdings I have that may be of interest to my readers. I will share it in a future post.

3 thoughts on “My stock portfolio – the third set of 5

  1. I read through your posts and you advised to buy when price for large cap is less than 200DMA

    I see that ITC has met this criteria and Is it good to buy at 256

    I have never bought a stock and started MF 2 months back so not sure If i am on the right stock but since it met your criteria ,i needed to ask you

    My horizon is 5 years holding

    Like

Leave a Reply

