My stock portfolio – the next 5

While most investors may be going through the MF route to buy equity as an asset class, there is a lot of interest in the stock portfolios of seemingly successful investors. This is amply demonstrated by the numerous requests I get for stock tips and readers wanting to know about my portfolio. In the last post I had written about my top 5 holdings. Here I will write about the next 5.

The first in the list is Kansai Nerolac and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was to get a Paint company in my portfolio. As I wanted to get a growth oriented company I chose this over Asian Paints.
  • My first purchase was in 2008 January and the last in January 2009.
  • The stock has seen a lot of corporate action in terms of bonus and I too got benefited by a 1:1 bonus in June 2010.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company at 100 % and in the past 2 years this has gone up too.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which is benefited from the local consumption story. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 2-3 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 29 Rs and it is about 5 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The second in the list is TVS Motor and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was mainly to participate in the two wheeler segment and I chose it over Hero Motocorp.
  • My first purchase was in October 2006 and the final one in December 2006.
  • The stock had declared a 1:1 bonus in 2010.
  • It has normally paid good dividends in the range of 75 % to 100 % and in the last 2 years this has increased to 200 % plus.
  • In terms of potential, the company is poised to grow aggressively due to the aspirations of our population. It is quite possible for the stock price to double in the next 2 years or so.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 49 Rs and it is about 5 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I have no plans of selling this stock now or in the near future.

The third in the list is Dr Reddy’s Lab and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was it’s prominent place in the Pharma sector and the focus it had on research as an Indian company.
  • My first purchase was in 2007 June and the last in March 2009.
  • The stock has not seen corporate action in terms of bonus or splits after my purchases.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company and in the last 2 years the dividends have been 300 % and 400 %
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which has dominated locally and well on course for it’s global journey now. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 4-5 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 542 Rs and it is about 5 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The fourth in the list is TCS and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was it’s prominent place in the IT sector as a major global player.
  • All my purchases of this stock was between January 2008 and June 2009.
  • The stock had seen a bonus of 1:1 in June 2009.
  • It has normally been a great dividend paying company and mostly paid 45 Rs dividend per share in 2016.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which has gone global successfully. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 3-4 years, despite the obvious challenges.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 399 Rs and it is about 4 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The final one in the top 5 list is L & T and some observations are below.

  • I bought some convertible debentures way back in 1992 and this effectively got converted into shares at a value of 60 Rs.
  • The stock has seen bonuses in 2006, 2008 and 2013 where  my numbers went up and I also sold off some at a decent profit.
  • It has normally been a great dividend paying company at around 800 % and more.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company having made it both locally and globally. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 2-3 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 20 Rs and it is about 4 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • Based on this purchase I also got shares of Ultratech Cement free 🙂
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

As you will see from here, investing in good companies and holding them for a long period of time has really worked for me here. There are some other holdings I have that may be of interest to my readers. I will share it in a future post.

3 thoughts on “My stock portfolio – the next 5

  1. Thanks for sharing these Mr Rajsheskhar. Could you please share if you keep adding to these shares as well or not do any investments in these shares now. I am running MF portfolio separately but still trying to understand how people run their direct stock portfolio. Just buy and hold for long or also keep buying at market drops even if the current price is much more. For eg if in a crisis TCS even falls to 1800 would you buy it considering you have it around 500-600 (I think so) in your portfolio.

    Thanks!!

    Like

    • I will try to do a post on this as it is difficult to answer fully in the response. Specifically for TCS, I will not really buy it at current prices and it is unlikely I will do it at 1800 or so too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

