My stock portfolio -5 top holdings

While most investors may be going through the MF route to buy equity as an asset class, there is a lot of interest in the stock portfolios of seemingly successful investors. This is amply demonstrated by the numerous requests I get for stock tips and readers wanting to know about my portfolio. I had written on this earlier but with the passage of time a few things have changed. So here is a list of my top 5 holdings.

The first in the list is Tata Motors and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was it’s prominent place in the Auto sector along with Maruti as Indian auto companies.
  • My first purchase was in 2007 February and the last in January 2009.
  • The stock has seen a lot of corporate action in terms of bonus earlier but I only witnessed a split in 2011.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company at 100 % but in the past 2 years this has come down considerably.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which has gone global successfully. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 2-3 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 109 Rs and it is about 8 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The second in the list is Palred Technologies and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was really the options I got as the CEO of Four Soft between 2007 and 2012.
  • These were mostly through allotments over these years.
  • The stock has seen a lot of corporate action in terms of capital reduction and split. Four Soft was also sold off to Kewill and the current business of Palred Technologies is completely different.
  • It has normally never paid dividends but on the selling of the company the shareholders got a special dividend, which for me amounted to more than 10 lacs.
  • In terms of potential, the company is one of the few listed Indian companies in the E-commerce portal area. However, it deals in relatively cheap electronic accessories and is in a low margin business.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 30 Rs and it is about 7 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not see this as a long term success and may sell it whenever I need money.

The third in the list is Maruti Suzuki and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was it’s prominent place in the Auto sector along with Tata Motors as Indian auto companies.
  • My first purchase was in 2007 June and the last in October 2009.
  • The stock has not seen corporate action in terms of bonus or splits.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company and in the last 2 years the dividends have been 500 % and 700 %
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which has dominated locally and started it’s global journey now. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 4-5 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 678 Rs and it is about 7 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The fourth in the list is Infosys and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was it’s prominent place in the IT sector as a major global player.
  • All my purchases of this stock was between June and November 2007.
  • The stock has seen a lot of corporate action in terms of two 1:1 bonuses in the years 2014 and 2015.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company and mostly pays dividends at 500 % and beyond.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company which has gone global successfully. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 3-4 years, despite the obvious challenges.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 454 Rs and it is about 7 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

The final one in the top 5 list is M & M and some observations are below.

  • My motivation for buying the stock was it’s prominent place in the commercial vehicles sector, which is an important one for our economy.
  • My first purchase was in 2007 March and the last in January 2009.
  • The stock has seen a split in 2010 when the face value was reduced to 5 from 10.
  • It has normally been a good dividend paying company at around 200 % and more.
  • In terms of potential, this is clearly one of the best examples of an Indian company catering to a growing local demand. I think it is quite possible for the stock to double over the next 4-5 years.
  • My investment in the stock is now at an average price of 285 Rs and it is about 7 % of my portfolio value at CMP.
  • I do not have any real plans to sell the stock, now or in the near future.

As you will see from here, investing in good companies and holding them for a long period of time has really worked for me here. There are some other holdings I have that may be of interest to my readers. I will share it in a future post.

2 thoughts on “My stock portfolio -5 top holdings

  1. Good stocks – are you not holding anything from financial sector ? Most of the MF have 25% allocation to financial sector .

    For direct MF investments – are you using the AMC directly or something like MFU/CAMS ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

