My 2016 Income audit

As I had said in an earlier post, my expense audit of 2016 showed that it was by far the most expensive year of my life yet. This was somewhat unexpected as my initial idea was for Rinki to either take up a job or to get her B school education funded entirely through an Educational loan. In the actual event, I decided to fund her first year expenses and with several other discretionary expenses adding up, we ended up spending what we did.

While I have not been worried about the figure as it is not really representative of our future expenses, these still needed to be funded from somewhere. When I looked at the income sources from 2016, I was happy to see that I was able to take care of the significant higher expenses through my income and other planned sources, without having to take recourse of redeeming my investments in any unplanned manner. Not that it would have mattered a great deal but it is good to know that my current portfolio can withstand the shock of significantly higher expenses relatively well.

Let me state upfront that this was possible due to the fact that I had some active income in 2016. Of course, I worked full time only in January and then again from June to December part time. If you look at the overall time spent, it would have not been more than 25 % of normal working. In other words if the normal working days in a year are about 220 full days, I probably worked for 55 full days. As my earning out of it was more than 30 % my likely earning should I have worked full time, I guess I was quite productive.

My passive income is through multiple sources and will normally be able to take care of my expenses comfortably. A closer look at the passive income stream in 2016 reveals the following :-

  • Rent from the Chennai apartment was along expected lines and covered up our rent paid in Hyderabad, with a little to spare.
  • Interest from tax free bonds amounted to 2.16 lacs as planned.
  • FMP investment of 26 lacs were redeemed in the year. I have reinvested the principal amounts while using the capital gains as passive income. Amount of capital gain was equal to roughly 7 lacs in the year.
  • Dividends from stocks and some Mutual funds amounted to about 5 lacs in the year.

As far as the educational expenses for children went, I had planned it through some FD in their names which are outside of my net worth calculations. It was fortunate that this was planned liberally and I was able to use some of it for Rinki’s B school expenses. The rest of it was funded through my active and passive income. This will not be there next year as we plan to fund the rest of the XLRI fees through the sanctioned Educational loan from SBI. Ronju will still have 4 semesters to go in BITS, so we will have to pay through 2017 and 2018, but these are already planned for.

In overall terms despite serious changes in plans the expenses were managed through the income generated. By the way it looks, next year should be a lot better in terms of surplus money available to invest more. Realistically, 2018 will probably be the year when I can do without any active income at all.

2 thoughts on “My 2016 Income audit

  1. Really nice & inspiring to go through. Very inspiring for your readers contemplating becoming full time investor.How much corpus is required for that? Any other piece of advice u may have ?

    Like

    • I had written a post in AIFW on how to search your Financial Independence Number ( FIN ). You can search for that. In general if you have about 50 times your current annual expenses you should be quite comfortable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

