Mandatory reading before you invest in stocks

As you know I have recently started a series of posts on how an investor can go about building his/her own stock portfolio. I had already written a few and was just getting into the choice of sectors and specific companies in them, when the mayhem happened in the markets last week. That kind of forced me to address other aspects of market crash etc, but I will get back to the series next week. However, many people have written to me asking what stocks they should invest in. While that makes me happy, I think there is a lot of resources in the blog they need to read up before they take the plunge.

For starters definitely read the following posts before you go ahead and start creating your own portfolio. Of course, this knowledge will be useful to people who are having their own stock portfolios but want to make it better. Each of these posts have several links to other posts, so make sure that you read all of them.

Having read all these posts you now have the required knowledge to get started on buying stocks for your portfolio. I will be getting back to the disrupted series next week. Always remember, equity investing is a journey which you must prepare for – at the same time you cannot get started unless you show some initiative. You need to get started, even if it is in a small way.

I am happy to see many people have got started out here. Also, become a part of my Facebook group Market Musings where a lot more is discussed on the general market situation and also individual stocks.

Interested readers may pls follow my blog on email by clicking on the relevant button on the right hand panel. I will shortly be stopping the practice of posting the links in different Facebook groups. Following the blog will ensure you get intimated whenever there is a new post.

One thought on “Mandatory reading before you invest in stocks

Leave a Reply

