How I plan to invest in next 1 year

The recent market fluctuations and more importantly, the uncertain global situation have got me thinking a lot on how I should treat my investments over next year. Till August, I was reasonably happy with where I had reached in my investment portfolio. My passive income stream was taking care of all my expenses, I had separate allocation for children’s education and my active income was all available for investment. My idea was to keep investing in PPF and MF SIP over the next 8 years or so, when I could join the ranks of retired people.

However, some changes have been necessitated in my earlier thinking due to the following reasons:-

  • My passive income stream was dependent on dividend from stocks and MF to the extent of 30 %. This can get reduced significantly if the markets do not recover well in the next year or so.
  • The rest of my passive income stream is from rental income, interest from tax-free bonds and capital gains from FMP. These will not be affected by the gyrations of the markets.
  • Though I plan to keep investing in MF over next year, I am now clear that markets will both zoom and plummet in this period. SIP mode of investment is therefore not a right way going forward.
  • There will be several windows of opportunity to add to my stock portfolio during the next one year. I need to look at this actively by bringing in whatever resources are possible.
  • Interest rate cuts will now definitely happen, so investments in FMP etc are less attractive.

In practical terms, these are the actions I am contemplating to execute shortly:-

  • Focus more  on generating active income to counter the reduced dividend as well as to have more resources for investing in the stock portfolio. So far, I was only looking at assignments that genuinely excited me. For some time one may need to be somewhat more pragmatic.
  • Currently I have SIP in 7 funds which are all for a 2 year period. Read about my portfolio here if you are interested. Most of these will be done by October. I plan to reduce my investments to 5 of these after that. I will also make one time investments in periodic manner as I have a feeling that timing the market will be rewarding in the next year.
  • When some of my FMP mature, I will use the principal amount to make the above one time purchases in MF.
  • Any surplus from my active income (most of it will be), is to be used for investing in stocks. I will mainly be adding to my existing portfolio but there can be some selective additions too.

I see this as a really good opportunity to focus more on the market actively and building up my portfolio further. My strong conviction is that we are in the midst of a secular bull run and investments made in the next one year will have a significant bearing on the long term growth potential of any stock portfolio. My own portfolio had benefited immensely when I took a contrary position in 2008 and 2009, by adding significantly to existing stocks.

While I do not recommend you follow anyone’s investment approach blindly, I will say that the next year will be a good time to add to your portfolio if you are already having one or to start one actively if you are not.

You may want to read the posts I was doing on building a stock portfolio, before I got distracted by the excitement in the markets !! I will try to continue them next week.

Interested readers may pls follow my blog on email by clicking on the relevant button on the right hand panel. I will shortly be stopping the practice of posting the links in different Facebook groups. Following the blog will ensure you get intimated whenever there is a new post.

2 thoughts on “How I plan to invest in next 1 year

  1. Sir – What individual stocks are there in your portfolio, if I may ask.
    I am building up a portfolio of FMCG, Pharma, liquor, cigarette and consumer branded companies slowly.
    Thanks for your posts.

    Like

  2. Raj, I have been following the your post since past 6 to 7 months. I am very much impressed with your posts. Thanks for the information that you provide on investments,portfolio building etc…

    I have a question? i have 5 SIP’s that are currently active. Looking at the current markets and your post i got much more confidence in investing stocks. I would like to stop the SIP’s and start investing in stocks for next one year. My investment is 10k per month. Could you please suggest few stocks for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

