Rationale for this blog

To start with let me thank all the people who have already visited the blog and given me some feedback. While I do expect a lot more of it, the start has been quite gratifying. This post will talk about why I wanted to start this blog and also state what is the scope of the blog.

Personal finance is an area in which I had some interest for a very long time, practically since I started working in 1988. One thing I realized immediately was that I would have to pretty much learn things on my own, even my complex Financial courses from IIMC were of limited help. Sure, they helped me understand about the financial statements and stock markets rather well but did not give me an overall picture on how to go about managing my finances. So, for better or for worse, I am a self-made person in the world of personal finance. I have had help from several quarters but my thoughts and actions have been my own. For a long time, I was also self contained, as my own career along with family priorities pretty much kept me away from any kind of social media presence or participation. It was only in the last year, when I had decided to strike out on my own through a Consultancy practice, that I thought of sharing some of my experiences in this area.

A caveat which needs to be stated upfront is that, I am not an expert and definitely do not have a perception that I am. I am however, a serious practitioner of personal finance and have been able to use my knowledge in taking actions that has led to my financial independence today. When I look around, I do not see a blog with resources that look at the whole area of personal finance with the specific objective of helping one attain financial independence. I believe that as someone who has practiced it I have the ability to give some pointers to people on it.

That then is the theme of this blog. All the posts and other discussions here will cover several aspects of personal finance, with this overriding objective in focus. As it is my blog and based on my experiences, a lot of what I will say here has happened to me. However, I am happy to learn and know more from others too in this area. Of course, there will be many people who are not keen to attain financial independence till they retire. For such people, some of the suggestions in this blog may seem a little radical. You do not have to follow whatever is stated here, once you understand what is being said, you will need to make your own decisions.

I will also not deal with complex calculations or number crunching in my posts. Yes, there are a few concepts like inflation, future value of money, discounted cash flow etc that you need to know about, but you can easily learn about these from the internet. I am absolutely against “reinventing the wheel” of any kind whatsoever. Repetition never adds any value, no matter how good the intentions are.

Some of you may be thinking what is “financial independence” anyway? I will try to answer that in a future post. But my next post will be about a typical Indian middle-class / upper middle-class life template and how it links to financial planning and financial independence.

Keep reading – the future posts will be much more fun as we have got rid of the boring stuff here.

7 thoughts on “Rationale for this blog

  1. Thanks Rajshekhar Sir. Love to read the way you interpret complex financial things into simple stuff. Though personal finance is no Rocket Science, even sometimes the pits and nuts seems so complex. A good start may be generating few pointers and thumb rule, example including but not limiting to income vs expense (how much % of salary should go as Expense and how much % as investment); Insurance (10 time of annual CTC) etc. Keep writing.

    Like

    • Hi Debojyoti, yes I do plan to give some indicative rules. However, my approach has always been to understand fundamental issues first and then getting down to the numbers. Keep reading, I hope you will find a lot of things that are useful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

